*ambient


checking in a project

Checking a project in means uploading your files to an online repository in which they will be safely stored. You can and should check your files in as often as possible: whenever you finish working on a large piece of code, leave your computer, log off a lab machine. You can check in even if you are not done with your project and the files you upload will not be graded in any way (submitting projects for grading is done with the submit tool).

  • In order to check in a project select Ambient > Check in a Project. A wizard will open with a list of all the projects in your workspace.

    Checkin Wizard
  • Click the Next button. Whenever you check a project in for the first time you will have to specify the user name of the owner of the repository into which you will upload the files. If you have set your check-in preferences the user name field will be filled in automatically. For easier management of your checked in projects you can specify a folder name of a CVS directory into which you want to upload your files, for example cps100/ (please note that the directory name can only contain alphanumeric characters).

  • When you click Finish your project will be uploaded to your on-line repository. A dialog window might appear asking you for a password. Type in your NetID passsword and press OK.
  • The next time you check your project in, you will no longer have to enter a user name and will be able to simply press Finish on the first wizard page.
  • Once your project is done uploading, you will see it decorated with a little golden icon in your package explorer.

team check-in

Before you can start working with a team, you must first set up your project appropriately.

Two things can happen when you check in a team project: either someone else had checked in a newer version of the code earlier, or the code on the server is the same as the one you checked out from. If no changes have been made on the server, a check-in operation proceeds as in the single user case.

If somebody else had checked code in it is important that you do not overwrite the changes they have made. The best way of dealing with that problem is to manually synchronize all of the files that are in conflict. You can do this in the Synchronization perspective in Eclipse, which will display all the files that are in conflict and allow you to examine the differences line by line. To synchronize the files, you should first download all of the remote changes into your workspace, resolve any errors and make sure the application still runs without trouble, and then check the updated files in. Please read the documentation in Eclipse about synchronizing files.

When you perform the check-in action and there are conflicts, the following message dialog will appear:

The available choices are:

  • Overwrite - this will overwrite all the conflicting files on the server with their local versions
  • Synchronize - this will launch the Synchronization perspective, which will allow you to synchronize individual files line by line. This is an advanced option. Please read the documenation about synchronizing files.
  • Cancel - does nothing.

 

Last Update: 23 August 2005