Current News

July 2014

June 2014

May 2014

April 2014

  • Undergraduate Research Poster Day 2014
  • Susan Rodger has been named a recipient of the 2013 Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) for her contributions to the teaching of computer science theory in higher education, and the development of computer science education in primary and secondary schools.
  • Sandeep Agrawal is a recipient of a 2014-2015 NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship. This award is a scholarship in the amount of $25,000 to be used to further Sandeep's research.
  • Souvik Sen is the lead researcher on HP Location Aware, a newly-launched indoor location application.
  • Ashwin Machanavajjhala will be a panelist on "The Surveillance Society," a Duke forum exploring the dangers and benefits of living in a society where government and corporations track the daily activities of citizens.

March 2014

  • C-SURF Fellows have been named for 2014
  • Jun Yang was promoted to Professor effective July 1, 2014.
  • Beth Trushkowsky (BS, '07), a former C-SURF Fellow who is completing a PhD at UC Berkeley, recently accepted a tenure track position at Harvey Mudd College.
  • Undergraduate students Jesse Hu, Avinash Moondra, Alan Ni, Ben Schwab, and Jay Wang have been named KPCB (Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers) Engineering Fellows for 2014. The fellowship program offers top U.S. college and graduate students a chance to work inside innovative Silicon Valley startups. The three-month summer program is focused on engineering and design. more»
  • Jason Stajich (BS, '99) was awarded tenure at UC Riverside where he works in fungal evolutionary genomics. He was a key driver of the bioperl project. more»

February 2014

January 2014

December 2013

  • Carlo Tomasi was awarded the Helmholtz Prize at the International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV) for two papers he co-authored over ten years ago which have had significant impact on computer vision research.
  • A new master's program in Economics and Computation (MSEC) will begin in Fall 2014.
  • Mingyu Guo (PhD, '11) is now a Lecturer in the School of Computer Science, University of Adelaide.
  • Dana Nau (PhD, '79) has been named a Fellow of the ACM for his contributions to automated searching and planning. Learn more about Dana in our alum profile.
  • Robert Calderbank has been awarded the Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science Chair in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences effective January 1, 2014.
  • Fred Ehrsam, a 2010 CS major, C-SURF Fellow, and participant in the DES-CS program, has been named one of TIME's 30 people under 30 changing the world
  • Jun Pang, Chris Dwyer, and Alvin Lebeck received the best paper award at the ACM International Workshop on Network on Chip Architectures (NoCArc 2013), for their paper "Exploiting Emerging Technologies for Nanoscale Photonic Networks-on-Chip."
  • Grant Awarded: Xiaobai Sun - A Shift in Computing Platform for Advancing Research and Education. Sponsor: ARO.
  • Grant Awarded: John Reif - Localized DNA Hybridization Computation. Sponsor: NSF.
  • Grant Awarded: Jeff Chase - Rethinking Security in the Era of Cloud Computing. Sponsor: NSF.
  • Grant Awarded: Alvin Lebeck - Harnessing Highly Threaded Hardware for Server Workloads. Sponsor: NSF.
  • Grant Awarded: Shivnath Babu - Cyclops: A Multi-System Approach to Process Massive Data Streams. Sponsor: Silicon Valley Community Foundation (NetApp University Research Fellowship).
  • Grant Awarded: Kamesh Munagala - EAGER Algorithmic Paradigms for Big Data Computation. Sponsor: NSF.
  • Grant Awarded: Pankaj Agarwal - Efficient Algorithms for Geometric Optimization. Sponsor: US-Israel Binational Science Foundation.
  • Grant Awarded: Jun Yang (co-PI: Shivnath Babu) Cumulon: Easy and Efficient Statistical Big-Data Analysis in the Cloud. Sponsor: NSF.
  • Grant Awarded: Carlo Tomasi (co-PI: Pankaj Agarwal) - Construction of 3-D Terrain Models from BIG Data Sets. Sponsor: Scalable Algorithmics.
  • Grant Awarded: Pankaj Agarwal - Efficient Algorithms for Geometric Optimization. Sponsor: NSF.

November 2013

  • CS majors Zachary Bears, Sai Cheemalapati, and Michael Deng were members of the first place team in the HackDuke computer programming contest. In less than 24 hours, they developed a prototype device that uses a glove, sensors and a computer to translate the motions of sign language into speech. Learn more in the video and Duke Today article.
  • Owen Astrachan was selected as a Distinguished Educator of the ACM.
  • Duke CS hosted the ACM Regional Programming Contest

October 2013

  • Smart Home resident Rebecca Lai won the STEAMy Summer Challenge Grand Prize and People's Choice Award for her short SEED video. Rebecca is a sophomore majoring in Computer Science and Visual Arts.
  • DUInnovate, a Duke University team comprised of nine students from CS, BME, ECE, Psychology, Econ, and Biology, took third place in the Bank of America Campus Challenge 2013. The CS students were Howard Chung, David Spruill, and Richard Cao. Teams were required to present solutions to real-world technology and business challenges associated with the financial services industry. The results are posted on the Challenge Portal.
  • Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing 2013: twenty-three Duke Computer Science students particpate.

September 2013

August 2013

July 2013

June 2013

May 2013

April 2013

March 2013

February 2013

January 2013

  • TechConnect 2013 Spring
  • Guillermo Sapiro has been selected as a SIAM Fellow for his contributions to both theory and practice in the fields of image processing and computer vision.
  • Ruofan Xia won prestigious IBM PhD Fellowship for his work with Kishor Trivedi, John Board, and Xiaobai Sun. This is a worldwide competition, and is extremely selective.
  • Grant Awarded: Alvy Lebeck (PI: Chris Dwyer) - Stochastic Computing Machines Enabled by DNA Self-Assembly. Sponsor: DARPA.