Registration Clearance

CS First Majors

Bookbagging starts Monday Oct. 22. 


This semester we are trying something new with Advising. All CompSci First Majors must do one of the following to be cleared to register for Spring Courses:

  1. If you have no questions, then you can meet with our Teaching Associates (Kate O'Hanlon and Yesenia Velasco) or Undergraduate Program Coordinator (Georgia Tse). They will be providing drop-in hours. Their hours and location are listed below.

  2. You can meet with your advisor.

Registration Clearance


These are drop-in hours only. 

October 23 - November 7

Day Time Location
Tuesday, Oct 23 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105
Wednesday, Oct 24 10:00am - 1:00pm LSRC D105
Thursday, Oct 25 10:00am - 1:00pm LSRC D105
Friday, Oct 26 3:00pm - 4:30pm LSRC D105
Sunday, Oct 28 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105
Monday, Oct 29 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105
Tuesday, Oct 30 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105
Wednesday, Oct 31 10:00am - 1:00pm LSRC D105
Thursday, Nov 1 10:00am - 1:00pm LSRC D105
Friday, Nov 2 10:00am - 11:00am, 2:00pm-4:00pm LSRC D105
Monday, Nov 5 10:00am - 1:00pm LSRC D105
Tuesday, Nov 6 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105
Wednesday, Nov 7 2:00pm - 5:00pm LSRC D105

 

Permission Numbers for Spring 2019 courses


If you need a permission number for a Computer Science course, please fill out this form: PIN request form

 

Answers to Common Questions:


Who do I meet with if my first major is not CompSci?

If you are a CompSci second major or CompSci minor, then you need to meet with your First Major Advisor to be cleared to register.

Who do I meet with if I am doing study abroad?

If you are away/abroad this semester, you are automatically cleared for registration for spring courses. 

If you are planning on being abroad next semester, and you have been approved for a study abroad program, then you do not need to meet. If you have not been approved yet, you should do one of the two above.

How do I add/drop/change my major, minor, concentration or certificate?

Instructions and links for doing so are available on the registrar’s website https://registrar.duke.edu/student-records/forms. Note that no changes to academic plans will be processed by the registrar’s office during registration period.

Are there substitutions for courses?

Any substitutions must be approved by the DUS office. A list of common substitutions are on this page, but they are not automatic. Send a request to dus@cs.duke.edu for approval of a course substitution. https://www.cs.duke.edu/undergrad/substitutions